Clicky

A co-worker accidentaly deleted bunch of files in a folder.  I tried looking at the log and see if I can reverse the process but the log doensn't even show me any entries beyond the month of June.  Why is that?  Also, how can I reverse his deletion and restored all the deleted files?  

Also, I tried following the manual to restore to previous version but I don’t even see the “then select Context Menu¿¿¿Revert changes from this revision.” When I right click on the bin folder (screencast)

Here is the excerpt from the manual,
B.4. Roll back (Undo) revisions in the repository
B.4.1. Use the revision log dialog
The easiest way to revert the changes from a single revision, or from a range of revisions, is to use the
revision log dialog. This is also the method to use of you want to discard recent changes and make an
earlier revision the new HEAD.
1. Select the file or folder in which you need to revert the changes. If you want to revert all changes,
this should be the top level folder.
2. Select TortoiseSVN¿¿¿Show Log to display a list of revisions. You may need to use Show All or
Next 100 to show the revision(s) you are interested in.
3. Select the revision you wish to revert. If you want to undo a range of revisions, select the first one
and hold the Shift key while selecting the last one. Note that for multiple revisions, the range must be
unbroken with no gaps. Right click on the selected revision(s), then select Context Menu¿¿¿Revert
changes from this revision.
4. Or if you want to make an earlier revision the new HEAD revision, right click on the selected revision,
then select Context Menu¿¿¿Revert to this revision. This will discard all changes after the selected
revision.
You have reverted the changes within your working copy. Check the results, then commit the changes.


thanks.
Video solutions are available to members only.

asked 08/09/2011 07:20

lapucca's gravatar image

lapucca ♦♦


8 Answers:
lapucca,

A message has been sent to some additional experts asking them to review your question. We will check back again to see if you are getting the help you need.

This request included Experts from Version Control, Development Software, Developer Tools.

Please do not respond to this comment; we will be monitoring your question for activity from the Experts.

Thank you for using Experts Exchange,

-----
Everyt'ing is everyt'ing,

Mod_MarlEE
Community Support Moderator
http://www.qa.downappz.com/Q_27248142.html
link
Mod_MarlEE's gravatar image

Mod_MarlEE

your bin folder doesn't seem to be under any version control
link
alexey_gusev's gravatar image

alexey_gusev

To add
try these
look at Update to Revision and Commit
TortoiseSVN Commands
http://tortoisesvn.net/docs/release/TortoiseSVN_en/tsvn-cli-main.html
link
Merete's gravatar image

Merete

Hi, My folder bin has many files that are not in the bin in the svn repository.  I can mark all these files as Add in Tortoise and commit back to repository but I don't want to do that because I'm not sure if my files are exactly what was there before they were deleted.  

Is there a way to remove the delete and commit that the co-worker did to restore this folder to its previous state?  I''m glancing over the manual but did not find anything.  I don't want any changes to my local files.  I just want to reverse/remove what the co-worker did to this folder in the repository.  How can I do this?  

Thank you.
link
lapucca's gravatar image

lapucca

Please post what you see in Show Log (and black out any sensitive info if you need :) )

The thing is that if deleted files were in the SVN then you can restore them, you just need to detect the revision they were last modified or added. Try also Revisions Graph in order to find anything.

Besides, as a crazy thought, check Recycle Bin too as an alternative.
link
alexey_gusev's gravatar image

alexey_gusev

I clicked on show all and stil only logs of up to June.  Does this mean that my co-worker didn't not delete file on the svn server?   He said he used Revert, so does that only revert his local folder to what was on the svn server?  I don't understand why my bin folder has tons of files.  Thanks.
 
showlog
showlog
 
link
lapucca's gravatar image

lapucca

if you delete local files, it doesn't affect the server in any way until you commit such changes, so even if you delete files and then Revert them - it will sync your local working copy to that on the server (and hence restore all files, maybe add some you didn't have and so on).

you should be able to see what's in your server repository with Repo-browser.
link
alexey_gusev's gravatar image

alexey_gusev

Thank you.
link
lapucca's gravatar image

lapucca

Your answer
[hide preview]

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here

By RSS:

Answers

Answers and Comments

Tags:

Asked: 08/09/2011 07:20

Seen: 410 times

Last updated: 08/15/2011 06:19